A Christian Nation?

“In God We Trust”…”One Nation Under God”

These should be more than mottos, they should define and quantify the lifestyle of our Nation. Sadly, we live in a day where people pick mottos on a daily basis, but the lives they live totally contradict them.

Merriam-Webster defines a motto as a sentence, phrase, or word inscribed on something as appropriate to or indicative of its character or use. Wikipedia says that a motto is a short sentence or phrase chosen as encapsulating the beliefs or ideals guiding an individual, family, or institution. Both of these definitions are very profound, and they speak to WORDS being backed and packed by ACTIONS. They tell and teach us that a motto is more than merely picking catchy words and phrases, and engraving them on our currency and engrafting them into our pledge. Mottos should be a true reflection of our spiritual and moral beliefs.

Mottos such as “In God WE TRUST” and  “ONE NATION UNDER GOD” SHOULD BE a true and direct reflection of our heart and love to God and ALL of humanity (our neighbors)….

Jesus said it like this, “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.'”….Luke 10:27

As I sat this morning God said to me, look around and see if you see My word in ACTION. He said, I see it on your money, and I hear it in your pledge, but when I look in your community, I can’t see it. He said, I see more divisiveness than I see unity. He said, I see more underlying hatred and bitterness, than I do love and true sincerity, because I see the heart. He said, I see people coming together for the camera, but I see the private issues in the heart……

Jesus went on to utter these words to me that He said before, “these people (EVEN TODAY) draw near Me with their mouths, but their heart’s are far from Me…Matthew 15:8

Well what do we do Lord? The same thing I said before….

“…if My people who are called by My name will humble themselves, and pray and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin and heal their land…2 Chronicles 7:14

WHERE DO YOU STAND WITH GOD?

4 thoughts on “A Christian Nation?

Leave a Reply

